Missouri Homeschool State Laws
Missouri Homeschool Law/State Code – The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education does NOT regulate or monitor home schooling. Neither the State Board of Education nor the Department of Education have authority to issue regulations or guidelines concerning home schooling.
As used in Missouri Statutes sections 167.031 to 167.071, a “home school” is a school, whether incorporated or unincorporated, that:
(a) Has as its primary purpose the provision of private or religious-based instruction;
(b) Enrolls pupils between the ages of seven years and the compulsory attendance age for the district, of which no more than four are unrelated by affinity or consanguinity in the third degree; and
(c) Does not charge or receive consideration in the form of tuition, fees, or other remuneration in a genuine and fair exchange for provision of instruction.
Every parent, guardian or other person in this state having charge, control or custody of a child not enrolled in a public, private, parochial, parish school or full-time equivalent attendance in a combination of such schools and between the ages of seven years and the compulsory attendance age for the district is responsible for enrolling the child in a program of academic instruction.”
REFERENCE: Missouri Revisor of Statutes: (https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=167.031)
Compulsory Attendance Requirement – As used in sections 167.031 to 167.051, the term “compulsory attendance age for the district” shall mean: “A parent, guardian or other person in this state having charge, control, or custody of a child between the ages of seven years of age and the compulsory attendance age for the district shall cause the child to attend regularly some public, private, parochial, parish, home school or a combination of such schools not less than the entire school term of the school which the child attends.” (1) Seventeen years of age for any metropolitan school district for which the school board adopts a resolution to establish such compulsory attendance age; provided that such resolution shall take effect no earlier than the school year next following the school year during which the resolution is adopted; and (2) Seventeen years of age or having successfully completed sixteen credits towards high school graduation in all other cases. The school board of a metropolitan school district for which the compulsory attendance age is seventeen years may adopt a resolution to lower the compulsory attendance age to sixteen years; provided that such resolution shall take effect no earlier than the school year next following the school year during which the resolution is adopted.
Number of Classroom Hours Required – Home schools must offer at least 1000 hours of instruction, at least six hundred hours of which will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science or academic courses that are related to the aforementioned subject areas and consonant with the pupil’s age and ability. At least four hundred of the six hundred hours shall occur at the regular home school location.
State Mandated Subjects – at least six hundred hours of mandated 1000 hours will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science or academic courses that are related to the aforementioned subject areas and consonant with the pupil’s age and ability.
Assessment Requirements – No assessment requirements
Immunization Requirements – No immunization requirements
Official School Withdrawal Required? – No notification required
Notification Required When Homeschool Established? – No notification required
Record Keeping Requirements? – As evidence that a child is receiving regular instruction, the parent shall, except as otherwise provided in this subsection:
(a) Maintain the following records:
a. A plan book, diary, or other written record indicating subjects taught and activities engaged in; and
b. A portfolio of samples of the child’s academic work; and
c. A record of evaluations of the child’s academic progress; or
d. Other written, or credible evidence
Teacher Certification Required? – No homeschool teacher certification required
If you’re interested in more information about your state’s homeschool laws, contact: email@example.com and your inquiry will be answered via email within 24 hours. For details about graduation requirements in your area, contact your nearest school district office.
|Updated: November 2020|
Missouri Homeschool State Laws Links:
- Missouri Accredited Homeschool Curriculum
- Online Private School Accredited in Missouri
- Homeschool Support Groups in Missouri
NOTE: HomeSchoolFacts intends the above information to be used for research purposes only. None of this information is intended as legal advice by HomeSchoolFacts.
COVID-19 UPDATE: Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and the ever-changing landscape of education, we are monitoring potential changes to homeschool requirements and will be updating our state pages within the next few months.