Minnesota Homeschool Law/State Code – “Minnesota’s Compulsory Instruction statutes, sections 120A.22, 120A.24, and 120A.26, allow parents to create private schools in their home for their children. Homeschools do not need to be accredited. (https://education.mn.gov/MDE/fam/nphs/home/)
Compulsory Attendance Requirement – Minnesota’s compulsory instruction law requires all children ages 7-17 to attend a public or nonpublic (private) school. Home-schools are considered a type of nonpublic school under Minnesota law. A student between ages 7-17 must be enrolled in school and cannot miss school unless: • a home school is compliant with Minnesota Statutes, sections 120A.22 and 120A. 24; or, • the parent has qualified for legitimate legal exemption to compulsory instruction in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 120A.22, subdivision 12. (https://education.mn.gov/MDE/fam/nphs/home/ )
Number of Classroom Hours Required – Minnesota Education statutes:
120A.41 LENGTH OF SCHOOL YEAR; HOURS OF INSTRUCTION.
(a) A school board’s annual school calendar must include at least 425 hours of instruction for a kindergarten student without a disability, 935 hours of instruction for a student in grades 1 through 6, and 1,020 hours of instruction for a student in grades 7 through 12, not including summer school. The school calendar for all-day kindergarten must include at least 850 hours of instruction for the school year. The school calendar for a prekindergarten student under section 124D.151, if offered by the district, must include at least 350 hours of instruction for the school year. A school board’s annual calendar must include at least 165 days of instruction for a student in grades 1 through 11 unless a four-day week schedule has been approved by the commissioner under section 124D.126. (Unless otherwise noted, home school length of school year requirements are either the same OR are not specified by this state.)
State Mandated Subjects – The required subjects (Minn. Stat. 120A.22 subd. 9) include: basic communications skills (including reading, writing, literature and fine arts); mathematics and science; social studies (including history, geography and government); and health and physical education.
Assessment Requirements – Homeschooled children ages 7-17 are required to be given a standardized exam yearly. Children who are younger or older are exempt from compulsory instruction and are exempt from the requirement.
Immunization Requirements – Homeschoolers must submit an immunization report with their other paperwork once when they first declare their intent to homeschool and again at the beginning of each student’s seventh-grade year. Parents who have chosen to decline immunizations for medical reasons or due to conscientiously held beliefs must also report on that same schedule but are instead required to submit a notarized statement about their child’s immunization status. (https://homeschoolers.org/homeschooling-info/mn-homeschooling-laws-forms/ )
Official School Withdrawal Required? – Parents who home-school must notify the student’s resident school district superintendent: • By October 1 of the first year the child is home-schooled after reaching age 7; • Within 15 days of withdrawing a child from public school to home school or to enroll the child in any nonpublic school that is not accredited by a state-recognized accrediting agency; • Within 15 days of moving out of a resident district; and, • By October 1, after a new resident district is established.
Notification Required When Homeschool Established? – Because compulsory instruction and school attendance is mandatory, you must register the home school. You must inform the superintendent of your local school district of your intent to home-school your student(s). After the first year of home-schooling, you must update the superintendent about the status of your home school through a Letter of Intent to Continue to Provide Instruction. (file:///C:/Users/Ginger/Downloads/Home%20Schooling%20Questions%20and%20Answers%20(1).pdf)
Record Keeping Requirements? – Minn. Stat. 120A.24 subd. 2, basically states that homeschoolers need to maintain records that show that all of the “required subjects are being taught and proof that the yearly tests are being administered.” (http://homeschoolers.org/homeschooling-info/mn-homeschooling-laws-forms/record- keeping/ ) The statute indicates that records must include: “class schedules, copies of materials used for instruction, and descriptions of methods used to assess student achievement.”
Teacher Certification Required? – Parents are “qualified” to teach their own children in Minnesota with no required certifications or licenses.
If you’re interested in more information about your state’s homeschool laws, contact: firstname.lastname@example.org and your inquiry will be answered via email within 24 hours. For details about graduation requirements in your area, contact your nearest school district office.
Updated: November 2020
Minnesota Homeschool State Laws Links:
NOTE: HomeSchoolFacts intends the above information to be used for research purposes only. None of this information is intended as legal advice by HomeSchoolFacts.
COVID-19 UPDATE: Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and the ever-changing landscape of education, we are monitoring potential changes to homeschool requirements and will be updating our state pages within the next few months.