Home schooling is an educational option in Oregon. Parents who choose to home school their children must register each of them at their local Education Service District (ESD). Registration must occur within 10 days of withdrawal from public school. To register your child for home schooling, contact your ESD representative from the list provided by the Oregon Department of Education.
Oregon Statute 339.030 outlines situations in which school age children may be exempt from attendance at public schools:
- Children who are attending a private or parochial school and are pursuing coursework “usually taught in grades 1 through 12 in the public schools” and who are attending school for a period of time equivalent to that required to children attending public schools;
- Children who the district school board feels satisfied “have acquired equivalent knowledge to that acquired in the courses of study taught in grades 1 through 12 in the public schools;”
- Children who have already graduated from high school and have received a high school diploma;
- Children who are taught by a private teacher for an equivalent number of hours as the attendance requirements for public school students and are studying “the courses of study usually taught in grades 1 through 12 in the public school;”
- “Children excluded from attendance as provided by law;” and
- “Children being educated in the children’s home by a parent or legal guardian.”
OAR 581-021-0026(4) states that “Parents are not required by law to provide advance notification to their local school district of intent to educate their children at home.” However, OAR 581-023-0006(4)(b) does require that a parent wishing to homeschool their child must notify their local ESD within 10 days of being withdrawn from public school. If a homeschool student is not registered with the ESD as being home schooled within 10 days of being withdrawn, he/she will be considered to be truant. “Any gap of more than 10 days between withdrawal and registration equals truancy.” Furthermore, according to ORS 339.030 (1)(c-d)], “If a child is not in school and is not exempt under one of the provisions of the compulsory school attendance law, the child’s parent may be reported by the school district as in noncompliance with the compulsory school law and court action may follow.” According to OAR 581-021-0026(4), a parent is not required to notify the ESD annually, but “is only required to notify the ESD when the student is first withdrawn from school or otherwise begins home schooling or if the student moves to a new ESD.”
Oregon home schooled students must be tested at grades 3, 5, 8, and 10 (OAR 581-021-0026(5)). If the child never attended public or private school, the child must be tested before August 15 following the end of grade 3 (OAR 581-021-0026(5)(a)(B)). If the child was withdrawn from public or private school, the first test is not required in the first 18 months of home schooling even if the child is in grade 3, 5, 8, or 10 (OAR 581-021-0026(5)(a)(A)).
No requirements for certification or licensing of Oregon homeschool parent/teachers are noted in Oregon Revised Statutes or Oregon Administrative Rules.
Oregon Homeschool State Laws Links:
- Online Private School Accredited in Oregon
- Oregon Department of Education/Home Schooling
- Oregon Home Education Network
- Oregon Christian Educators Association Network
- Homeschool Support Groups in Oregon
NOTE: HomeschoolFacts does not endorse any of the links or organizations listed above. All of the information provided is intended for research purposes only and is not given as legal advice. REMEMBER: The most important thing you can do to prepare for homeschooling your child is to become familiar with your state’s laws about homeschooling.